Do you remember what happened 20 years ago? In the summer of 1998, the Major League Baseball draft drew a lot of interest from Richmond High School baseball fans because of a tall, lanky pitcher/outfielder named Andy Brown. Brown was part of a Richmond baseball program that went to two final four appearances in the late 90’s. He had an excellent bat and was just as good on the mound. The New York Yankees also saw potential in Brown. They drafted him in the first round and 24th overall. Brown has the distinction, along with only 14 other Indiana High School players, to be drafted in the first round.

Brown played outfield in the Yankees organization beginning Rookie ball with the Gulf Coast Yankees. He hit just .229 with 3 HR and 24 RBI as he adjusted to professional pitching. The highest Brown hit in the minors was .257 with Greensboro in 2000. In eight seasons of minor league baseball, Brown played in 605 games hitting just .219 with 70 homeruns and 279 RBI. Andy’s best season came with an independent team late in his career after he was signed by the Worcestor Tornados of the Cam-Am League. Brown hit 21 homeruns with 58 RBI and batted .285. His final stop came in 2005 after a brief stint with Quad Cities Swing of the Midwest League.

Andy never made it to the majors. The highest level of baseball Brown achieved was AA Trenton in 2003 and 2004.

Brown was an All-American (2nd team) his senior season and was the Gatorade Player of the Year in Indiana.

Here is a list of the other Indiana HS Players drafted in the first round. Players who made it to the Majors in BOLD.

1976 — No. 2, Pat Underwood, Kokomo (Detroit)
2013 — No. 7, Trey Ball, New Castle (Boston)
2007 — No. 9, Jarrod Parker, Norwell (Arizona)
1980 — No. 14, Tim Maki, Carroll (Texas)
1971 — No. 16, Jeff Wehmeier, Brebeuf Jesuit (Chicago Cubs)
1966 — No. 19, Larry Hutton, Greenfield (L.A. Dodgers)
1983 — No. 21, Gary Thurman, North Central (Kansas City)
2015 — No. 21, Ashe Russell, Cathedral (Kansas City)
1975 — No. 22, Tony Moretto, Evansville Harrison (Cincinnati)
1974 — No. 23, Steve Reed, Fort Wayne Wayne (Cincinnati)
1998 — No. 24, Andy Brown, Richmond (N.Y. Yankees)
1996 — No. 27, AJ Zapp, Center Grove (Atlanta)
2018 — No. 32, Nick Schnell, Roncalli (Tampa Bay)
2015 — No. 33, Nolan Watson, Lawrence North (Kansas City)