BLOOMINGTON, Ind. – Indiana men’s soccer sophomore forward Victor Bezerra was named one of three finalists for the 2020 Missouri Athletic Club Hermann Trophy on Wednesday afternoon, United Soccer Coaches announced. The three finalists were determined by voting from NCAA Division I soccer coaches.
Bezerra is joined by junior forward Gloire Amanda (Oregon State) and sophomore midfielder Valentin Noel (Pittsburgh) as the three finalists for the prestigious award. The MAC Hermann Trophy has been awarded annually since 1967.
The Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year has been electric on the offensive side of the ball during the 2020-21 season. Bezerra has 12 goals, three assists, and 28 total points to his credit during his second season in Bloomington. His goal total marks the highest in a single season by a Hoosier since Eriq Zavaleta secured 18 scores in 2012. Since 2006, only two Hoosiers have scored more goals than Bezerra in a single season: Will Bruin (18 in 2010) and Zavaleta (18 in 2012).
The Chicago native scored five goals in the three Big Ten Tournament matches, the most ever by a Hoosier in a single B1G tournament run, on his way to being selected the Big Ten Offensive Player of the Tournament.
Nationally, he ranks fourth in goals per game (0.91), tied for third in game-winning goals (4), and tied for sixth in points per game (2.00).
Bezerra is the third Hoosier in the last four seasons to be named a MAC Hermann Trophy finalist. Andrew Gutman took home the coveted award in 2018, while Grant Lillard was the 2017 runner-up for the award. Current assistant coach Danny O’Rourke is the only other Hoosier to win the award under its current name, winning the MAC Hermann Trophy in 2004.
The MAC has honored the top player in collegiate soccer since 1986. Prior to 2002, the Missouri Athletic Club and Hermann Trophy were two separate awards.
Two IU players earned the MAC Player of the Year trophy on three occasions with Ken Snow taking the honor in 1988 and 1990, and current IU head coach Todd Yeagley in 1994. Hoosiers collected five Hermann trophies with Angelo DiBernardo in 1978, Armando Betancourt in 1981, Ken Snow in 1988 and 1990, and Brian Maisonneuve in 1994.
The No. 2-ranked Hoosiers will take on the No. 3-ranked Pitt Panthers at 8:30 p.m. ET on May 14 at Sahlen’s Stadium at WakeMed Soccer Park with a spot in the national championship match on the line. The game will air on ESPNU with Dalen Cuff (PxP) and Devon Kerr (Analyst) on the call.