Rosemont, Ill. — Nine Big Ten students were selected in the 2020 MLS SuperDraft with six picked in the first and second rounds.

The first and second rounds were completed Jan. 9. Leading the way for the Big Ten was Big Ten Defender of the Year Jack Maher, of Indiana, chosen by Nashville SC, an expansion team, as the second overall pick. Big Ten Midfielder of the Year Aaron Molloy of Penn State was chosen next at No. 16 by the Portland Timbers, and Michigan State’s Patrick Nielsen completed the first-round picks, selected by Atlanta United FC at No. 23.

In the second round, the Spartans’ Michael Wetungu was selected by Real Salt Lake at 46th overall. Jack Hallahan of Michigan was picked at No. 50 by Los Angeles FC, followed by Indiana’s Simon Waever to Toronto FC at No. 51.

The third and fourth round were conducted on Monday with Indiana’s Joris Ahlinvi going first in the third round, 53rd overall, by FC Cincinnati. Big Ten Goalkeeper of the Year Andrew Verdi of Michigan was picked 65th by D.C. United, followed by fellow goalkeeper Parker Siegfried of Ohio State at No. 74 to New York City FC.


Round 1

No. 2 – Jack Maher, D, Indiana (Nashville SC)

No. 16 – Aaron Molloy, M, Penn State (Portland Timbers)

No. 23 – Patrick Nielsen, D, Michigan State (Atlanta United FC)


Round 2

No. 46 – Michael Wetungu, D, Michigan State (Real Salt Lake)

No. 50 – Jack Hallahan, M, Michigan (Los Angeles FC)

No. 51 – Simon Waever, D, Indiana (Toronto FC)


Round 3

No. 53 – Joris Ahlinvi, M, Indiana (FC Cincinnati)

No. 65 – Andrew Verdi, GK, Michigan (D.C. United)

No. 74 – Parker Siegfried, GK, Ohio State (New York City FC)