CARMEL, Ind. – The Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference (HCAC) announced the Spring 2021 Volleyball All-Conference teams and award winners on Monday.
Remi Bower (Deshler, Ohio) from Bluffton University was named the 2021 HCAC player of the Year, following a vote of league coaches. The senior had a standout year for the Beavers, racking up a league-leading 144 kills in league play for 3.89 kills per set. The outside hitter was a utility player, also picking up 95 digs within conference action for 2.57 digs per set. Bower also had a league-best 27 aces and 176 points in 2021.
Allison Thompson (Louisville, Ky.) of Franklin College was voted the Defensive Player of the Year. The junior was amongst the HCAC leaders in digs with 167 over the course of 2021 league play, averaging 5.96 digs per set. Thompson also recorded 29 assists and eight aces. 
Emily Abshire (Cincinnati, Ohio) from Mount St. Joseph University was selected as the Newcomer of the Year. The outside hitter was amongst the league’s best with 98 kills for a .242 hitting percentage and 3.16 kills per set. She also racked up 101 points over the course of 2021 in league play.
After leading Franklin to a No. 3 seed in the playoffs, Mary Johnston was selected as the Spring 2021 Coach of the Year in a vote amongst her peers. Under Johnston’s tutelage, the Grizzlies finished conference play with a record of 7-2 and a 10-5 mark overall.

The HCAC also honors an All-Conference Team and Honorable Mention team. The members of those teams are selected by a vote of league coaches.

For more information on HCAC Volleyball, visit the websites of any of the participating schools, or go to the HCAC’s home on the internet at Be sure to stay up to date on all of your Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference news by following @HCACDIII on Twitter and by liking the “HCAC DIII” Facebook page.

Player of the Year – Remi Bower, Bluffton University
Defensive Player of the Year – Allison Thompson, Franklin College
Newcomer of the Year – Emily Abshire, Mount St. Joseph
Coach of the Year – Mary Johnston, Franklin College

All-Conference First Team

Emily AbshireFROHMount St. Joseph University
Brooke AselageSOOHMount St. Joseph University
Remi BowerSROHBluffton University
Kyndall BoyllSROHFranklin College
Sam BuschurSOSMount St. Joseph University
Katryna DahlbergSRDSRose-Hulman Institute of Technology
Madi DavisFRSTransylvania University
Sarah DickmanJROHEarlham College
Emma HarmonSOOH/DSHanover College
Karrington JacksonSOMBTransylvania University
Kelsey KetchamJRS/OHHanover College
Sylvie MillerSODS/OHTransylvania University
Gisella MoraJRMHEarlham College
Abigail SewellSRMBFranklin College
Allison ThompsonJRDSFranklin College
Grace WardFRSTransylvania University

All-Conference Honorable Mention

Kaylie CampbellSOMH/OHBluffton University
Grace YoungFRMH/OHMount St. Joseph University
Erin WagnerSOS/RSEarlham College
Samantha CampbellJRMHManchester University
Elizabeth CanonSOOHRose-Hulman Institute of Technology
Felicity BontragerJROH/MHAnderson University
Maddie EdwardsJRRSHanover College
Morgan PorterSRDS/OHDefiance College
Brooke KlemanJRDSBluffton University
Halle PlanckSORSManchester University
Amber MillerSRDSHanover College
Chloe HolderFRMBFranklin College
Jennifer ShamelSODSEarlham College
Shaylen PerryFRMH/OHAnderson University

Newcomer Team

Emily AbshireFROHMount St. Joseph University
Reagan EgbertFROHFranklin College
Suzanne KlostermanFRRSTransylvania University
Grace WardFRSTransylvania University
Maria YoungFRRSEarlham College
Grace YoungFRMH/OHMount St. Joseph University