CARMEL, Ind. – The Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference (HCAC) announced the Volleyball All-Conference and marquee awards winners on Tuesday.
Earning the title of Player of the Year in just her second season is Maria Young (Bedford, Va.) from Earlham College. The sophomore had a stellar campaign for the Quakers, helping to lead them to a regular season title in 2021. Young was third in the conference in kills, racking up an impressive 329, backed by a .296 hitting percentage (fourth in the league). She averaged a 3.58 kills per set, and was also a force at the net, picking up 80 total blocks, the second highest total in the league, averaging .87 blocks a set. She led the conference in points, with a 4.05 points per set average, tallying 373 in 2021.
Leading the charge defensively and picking up the title of Defensive Player of the Year, from Hanover College, was Casey Dunn (Fort Thomas, Ky.). Also, in just her second year in the league, Dunn led the league in digs per set with a 5.72 average, sprawling for 526 digs in 2021. The defensive specialist helped lead the Panthers to a No. 4 seed in the 2021 Volleyball post-season.
The HCAC recognizes an athlete in their first year of athletic competition who stands out, and in a vote of league coaches, Transylvania University’s Cate Scheper (Crestview Hills, Ky.) was selected as the Newcomer of the Year. The hitter boasts an impressive league-leading 401 kills in 2021, behind a .220 hitting percentage. She was also third in the conference in points per set with 3.79 and averaged 3.52 kills a set.
After leading the Quakers to an 8-1 mark in conference play and a regular season title championship, Earlham’s Lauren Horton was named the 2021 HCAC Coach of the Year. Horton helped guide Earlham to their first No. 1 seed in the post season, and boast a 19-5 overall record.
Player of the Year – Maria Young, Earlham College
Defensive Player of the Year – Casey Dunn, Hanover College
Newcomer of the Year – Cate Scheper, Transylvania University
Coach of the Year – Lauren Horton, Earlham College
The HCAC also honors an All-Conference First Team, Second Team and Honorable Mention team. The members of those teams are selected by a vote of league coaches and are listed below.
For more information on HCAC Women’s Soccer, visit the websites of any of the participating schools, or go to the HCAC’s home on the internet at Be sure to stay up to date on all of your Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference news by following @HCACDIII on Twitter and by liking the “HCAC DIII” Facebook page. 
All-Conference First Team

Emily AbshireOHMount St. Joseph
Brooke AselageOHMount St. Joseph
Felicity BontragerMHAnderson
Samantha CampbellMHManchester
Maura DankoskiOHHanover
Casey DunnDSHanover
Emma HarmonOHHanover
Karrington JacksonMBTransylvania
Kelsey KetchamSHanover
Sophia KoopOHRose-Hulman
Liv KyrkOHEarlham
Giselle MoraMHEarlham
Cate ScheperOH/MBTransylvania
Madison SweeneyMBTransylvania
Erin WagnerS/RSEarlham
Miranda WilsonOHFranklin
Grace YoungMH/OHMount St. Joseph
Maria YoungRSEarlham

All-Conference Honorable Mention Team

Erin AndroneDSMount St. Joseph
Makenzie BenhamOHDefiance
Elizabeth CanonOHRose-Hulman
Allie FultsOH/MHRose-Hulman
Billie JarretSFranklin
Tre’Ana KingDSDefiance
Brooke KlemanDSBluffton
Suzanne KlostermanRSTransylvania
Erika KramerMHManchester
Shaylen PerryMHAnderson
Halle PlanckRSManchester
Cassidy PoseyMH/OPPBluffton
Kylie RathbunDSRose-Hulman
Allison ThompsonDSFranklin
Brooke TroyerDSAnderson
Helaina WaltersMHManchester

First-Year Team

Carley CampMHManchester
Cate ScheperOH/MBTransylvania
Maggie SchweitzerSHanover
Akiko TajimaDSEarlham
Morgan WhitakerOH/RSMount St. Joseph
Miranda WilsonOHFranklin