SIOUX FALLS, S.D. - For the third time in five years Indiana Wesleyan University
men's basketball has an opportunity to raise the red banner. Indiana Wesleyan
defeated the top-overall seed and No.1-ranked IU East 75-72 in a thrilling national
semifinal game on Monday evening.

  *   Midway through the opening half, the Wildcats built their largest lead of 14
at 23-9. But the Red Wolves responded with a 24-8 charge to gain their first lead
of the night at 33-31. IWU led 37-35 at the half.
  *   IU East led 60-56 with 8 minutes left in the game when Indiana Wesleyan used a
13-4 run to capture a 69-64 advantage with 4 minutes to play. The five point lead
was the largest for either team in the second half.
  *   Following a 5-0 IU East run to knot the score at 69, Kyle
Mangas scored down low with 1:24B to play for a 71-69 Wildcat lead. 
On the next Red Wolves possession, IUE missed a 3-pointer, had a shot blocked, and then committed a turnover.
  *   Next time down the court, IU East could not capitalize on a second straight
possession as Jacob Johnson grabbed the defensive rebound and was fouled. He hit both free throws for a lead
of 73-69 with 14 ticks on the clock.
  *   IU East hit a clutch 3-pointer with 8.9 seconds left and trailed by just one
at 73-72. The inbounds pass went to Joel Okafor and he was fouled with 8.1
seconds. Okafor connected on both free throws for a 75-72 lead.
  *   IU East brought the ball down the court, worked it to Bishop Smith, and the
potential game-tying 3 at the buzzer was off the mark and set off a celebration in

  *   Joel Okafor picked a prime time to have a career-game. 
The junior finished with a career-best 18 points on 6-of-6 shooting and 6-of-6 from the foul line. 
He added three rebounds, three assists, and two steals.
  *   Indiana Wesleyan dominated down low with a 38-28 rebound advantage and a 52-34
advantage in points in the paint. Meanwhile, IU East outscored IWU 30-6 in shots
from beyond the arc.
  *   IU East had their 28-game win streak snapped and lost for the first time since
November 17, 2017.