A year after settling for a runner-up finish, eighth-ranked Lanesville returned and claimed the big trophy it had been seeking with a 5-1 victory over Rossville at Victory Field in Indianapolis.

A member school since 1939 and an enrollment of 258, it was the first state championship earned by a Lanesville team in any sport. The eighth-ranked Eagles (20-6) were coached by third-year leader Zach Payne and finished the season winning 12 straight games.

A year ago, the Eagles made their first appearance in the Class A championship game but suffered a 4-0 defeat to Daleville. That experience paid off this time around as eight starters returned this year for the school located in Harrison County in southern Indiana.

Scoreless through the first four frames, Lanesville exploded in a big fifth inning for five runs and it all began with two outs. Isaac Casabella walked and Greg Daly’s single moved him to third base. After Daly stole second base, Evan Peele doubled to left field scoring both. Ethan Purdy then pinch ran for Peele and advanced to second on a wild pitch followed by a walk to Ryan McCubbins. Mitchell Bailey then doubled to left field scoring two more runs. Bailey then scored on Cameron Harvey’s single to right field.

Third-ranked Rossville (24-9) got on the board in the bottom of the fifth after a two-out, bases loaded wild pitch brought Mark Soiseth home but the Hornets stranded two runners in scoring position and ended any chance of a rally. Soiseth had walked, advanced to second on Nate Clendenen single up the middle, and took third on a fielder’s choice.

Harvey (9-2) went the distance on the mound for the Eagles striking out four and holding Rossville to three hits.

Rossville was making its second appearance in the state finals, 17 years after its 2000 state championship season. Brad Scott is in his second year coaching the Hornets.