NOTRE DAME, Ind. — Notre Dame junior safety Kyle Hamilton and graduate student defensive lineman Myron Tagovailoa-Amosa have been named to the Nagurski Trophy watch list, an award which recognizes the national defensive player of the year.

Tabbed to the 2021 Walter Camp Preseason All-America First Team, the Bednarik Award watch list and the Thorpe Award watch list, Hamilton was recognized as a FWAA first-team All-American in 2020, as well as a second-team Walter Camp, AFCA and Associated Press honoree in 2020.

Also named to the 2021 Lott IMPACT Trophy Watch List, Hamilton enters his true junior season known as one of the top safeties on the college gridiron. The 2020 Bednarik Award semifinalist and first-team All-ACC selection led the Irish in tackles last season with 63 in just 11 games, adding an interception, six pass breakups and 4.5 TFL. 

Tagovailoa-Amosa, a 2021 nominee to the Allstate AFCA Good Works Team, earned All-ACC Second Team honors in 2020, after a season in which he totaled 17 tackles, 6.0 TFL (loss of 21 yards) and 2.5 sacks. He was named to the Phil Steele Preseason All-Independent First Team in 2020, and was a Piesman Trophy Finalist in 2019.