NOTRE DAME, Ind. — Notre Dame offensive linemen junior Jarrett Patterson and graduate student Cain Madden have earned selection to the Outland Trophy Watch List. The award recognizes the nation’s outstanding interior lineman.

Patterson, a member of both the Outland and Rimington Trophy Watch Lists in both 2020 and 2021, earned an honorable mention All-America nod from Phil Steele in 2020 after only being able to play in eight games last season due to an injury. Patterson’s performance in those eight games was impressive, and he finished 2020 with 21-career starts under his belt, while being named to the Associated Press All-Conference Second Team and by the conference to the All-ACC Third Team.

Patterson was a member of the 2020 offensive line that was a finalist for the Joe Moore Award, honoring the best offensive line unit in college football. The line paved the way in 2020 for running back Kyren Williams’ 1000+ rushing yard season, and helped the Irish win the time of possession battle in 11-of-12 games in 2020.

Madden, a graduate transfer from Marshall, was a 2020 Walter Camp Second Team All-American and an AP Second Team All-American. He started 9-of-10 games for the Thundering Herd in 2020. Madden and the offensive line paved the way for Marshall to outrush their opponents in 7-of-10 games and outpass opponents in six. The Herd also won time of possession in six games in 2020. In addition to his 2020 All-America honors, Madden was named first-team All-Conference USA.