RICHMOND, November 1. 2018 – Seven men, whose career spread over eight sports and seven
different decades, have been named to the inaugural class of the Richmond High School Coaches
Hall of Fame. The seven honorees include:

Dick Baumgartner, who has
the winningest boys basketball
record in RHS history with 234
victories and eight regional
titles from 1965-1977.

Dave Bowers, who won nine
NCC championships in crosscountry
and eight in track in
the 1970s and 1980s. He
finished second in the state in
track in 1973.

John Cate, who won 285
games, 12 sectionals, eight
regionals and led two teams to
the Final Four as baseball
coach in two different stints
from 1986-2008.

Hub Etchison, who won 181
games and two mythical state
championships and put
together five undefeated seasons
as football coach from 1953-

George Griffith, who led
Richmond to the 1992 state
basketball championship as well
as berths in the state title games
in 1985 and ’87.

Charlie Hilton, who won a share
of the state wrestling
championship in 1958 and won
multiple North Central
Conference titles in track,
wrestling and cross-country. He
was also a long-time RHS athletic

Joe Moehring, who led the boys
golf team to state championships
in 1993, ’96 and ’97, and the girls
golf team to a state runner-up in


The seven were chosen by Hall of Fame selection committee members: Mike Lopresti,
Jan Clark, Dixie Robinson, Rae Woolpy, Larry Cochren, Troy Ingram, Chad Bolser, Vagas
Ferguson and Rick Thalls. The coaches will be honored at the halftime of the Richmond-Connersville
boys basketball game Dec. 15 in Tiernan Center. Baumgartner, Bowers, Hilton,
Etchison and Moehring will go into the Hall of Fame posthumously.
Plaques honoring each coach with career highlights will be on permanent display in the Tiernan
Center lobby. New Hall of Fame inductees will be added on an annual basis.