Indianapolis Cardinal Ritter plated three runs in both the third and fourth innings and went on to capture its first baseball state championship in a 10-4 decision over Wapahani at Victory Field in Indianapolis.

Coached by 11th-year leader Dave Scott, Ritter (28-3) earned the school’s sixth state championship and second this this school year following their 2A football crown last fall down the street at Lucas Oil Stadium. Each of their previous titles had come in football.

Kyle Price’s RBI single in the third inning scored Alex Vela who had singled with two outs and then stole second. Jake Kluemper then followed with an RBI triple to right field scoring Price. Kluemper scored the third run when Joey Gruber, pinch running for Blake Malatestinic, stole second after Wapahani made a play on him.

In the Ritter fourth, Brian Eisele pinch ran for Dillon Olejnik who tripled down the right field line and scored on Vela’s single through the right side. Vela took second on a wild pitch and then third on a passed ball. Price walked to put runners on the corners and then stole second himself. Ben Egenolf singled up the middle scoring both to take a 6-0 advantage.

The Raiders of 34th year Wapahani coach Brian Dudley got back into it with three runs in the bottom of the fifth inning. Isaiah Brosher reached on a fielding error to lead off and moved over on Braxton Davis’ single. Both then moved up another base on a wild pitch. Tysen Lipscomb was then intentionally walked to load the bases and Stephen Vickery singled to scoring Brosher. Garett Stanley then landed a 2 RBI single to left field scoring Davis and Lipscomb.

Third-ranked Ritter tacked four more in the top of the sixth inning on two hits and an error while Wapahani picked up one more in its last at bat when Stanley scored on Chandler Wise’s grounder to second base.

Malatestinic pitched all seven innings to finish his senior year 12-1. Egenolf finished the game 2-for-3 with a run and 3 RBI for Ritter and Stanley went 2-for-4 with 2 RBI and a run scored for Wapahani.

Wapahani (19-12) was playing in the championship game for the second time in four seasons but settled for its second runner-up finish (2004 2A).