South Bend St. Joseph scored a pair of runs in two different frames and shut out Jasper 4-0 to take the IHSAA Class 3A Baseball State Championship at Victory Field.

It was the school’s 10th state championship overall but first in baseball in their initial visit to the state finals. St. Joseph became the first South Bend school to play in a state championship game since South Bend Washington in 1985 and the first to win a title since South Bend Clay in 1970. John Gumpf is the 10th year leader of the Indians (25-4).

In the second inning, Luke Houin walked with one away. Jacob Hoover pinch ran for Houin and moved to second on Alex Voss’ single through the right side. Three batters later, Patrick Farrisee singled to left scoring both Hoover and Voss.

In the fourth, Andrew Washburn sent a sacrifice fly to left to score Voss. The throw to the plate was late and then a throw by the Jasper catcher to first base was off target and went into right field allowing JR Haley to score.

St. Joseph’s Michael Dunkelberger (7-2) held Jasper to just three hits and struck out four going the distance for the win. Voss ended 2-for-3 with two runs scored to lead the Indians.

Second-ranked Jasper (30-5) was appearing in its state record-extending 16th baseball state finals under 30th year head coach Terry Gobert. It was the Wildcats’ fourth runner-up finish to go along with their five state titles.