[ONE // big ten football opens up with a dozen wins on the first weekend of play]

The Big Ten football season kicked off over a three-day stretch this week, as all 14 teams took the field and combined for a 12-2 record.  On Thursday, Minnesota was the first ballclub to open the season, securing a 28-21 win against South Dakota State.  On Friday, Michigan State defeated Tulsa 28-7, Wisconsin blanked South Florida, 49-0, and Rutgers rolled past UMass 48-21, while Purdue fell 34-31 at Nevada on a last-second field goal.  On Saturday, Ohio State beat Florida Atlantic 45-21, Nebraska handled South Alabama 35-21, Maryland throttled Howard 79-0, Illinois took care of Akron 42-3, Indiana topped Ball State 34-24, Penn State dominated Idaho 79-7, Michigan defeated Middle Tennessee 40-21, and Iowa stopped Miami (Ohio), 38-14.  Elsewhere, Northwestern dropped its opener on the road at Stanford, 17-7.


[TWO // big ten volleyball opens with impressive mark; badgers picked to win league title]

The Big Ten opened the 2019 volleyball campaign with a combined 23-6 record, with seven teams starting their seasons unbeaten.  Iowa and Michigan are 3-0, while Maryland, Michigan State, Nebraska, Penn State, and Wisconsin are 2-0, and Purdue is 1-0.  Speaking of Wisconsin, the Badgers were chosen as the conference favorite for the 2019 volleyball season, voted on by the Big Ten coaches and announced on Monday. The Badgers begin their 2019 campaign ranked No. 5 by the American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA). It is the fifth straight season the Badgers will open the year ranked among the top 10 teams in the country.  Nebraska, ranked second nationally, was also selected No. 2 in the preseason poll. Defending 2018 Big Ten Champion Minnesota was tabbed third. Penn State was voted to finish fourth, while Illinois rounded out the top five of the preseason poll.  Additionally, conference coaches selected a Preseason All-Big Ten Team featuring three unanimous selections and four previous preseason honorees.


[THREE // men’s soccer opens season; coaches pick hoosiers to win league crown]

Big Ten men’s soccer opened its season this week with a 6-5-1 record. Earlier in the week, Indiana was selected by the Big Ten men’s soccer coaches to pace the nine league teams in the 2019 season, announced by the Conference on Tuesday.  In 2018, Indiana (20-3-1, 8-0-0 Big Ten) earned the Big Ten Championship and Big Ten Tournament crown, along with making a run to the NCAA College Cup.  Defending NCAA champion Maryland was voted to finish second in the league poll, with ranked Michigan in third. 2018 College Cup qualifier Michigan State and Wisconsin were selected fourth and fifth in the preseason poll, respectively.  The preseason honors list of 27 standouts was also announced.


[FOUR // big ten women’s soccer continues its winning ways]

In its second week of action, Big Ten women’s soccer teams combined for a 15-7-4 overall mark, which included a few impressive wins.  On Thursday, No. 17 Rutgers blanked No. 11 Tennessee, while Illinois knocked off No. 22 Pepperdine 3-2 on Friday.  To close out the week, Nebraska tied No. 21/9 Baylor, 1-1.


[FIVE // field hockey season begins; preseason honors announced]

The Big Ten opened its field hockey season this past week as all nine teams combined for an 11-6 record.  Maryland, Michigan State and Rutgers all opened 2-0, while Ohio State won its lone match of the week.  Additionally, the Big Ten announced its 2019 preseason honors on Tuesday, highlighted by seven All-Big Ten selections from last season.  Four first-team All-Big Ten students from the 2018 campaign headline this year’s preseason choices – Iowa’s Maddy Murphy, Maryland’s Bodil Keus, Michigan’s Guadalupe Fernandez Lacort and Rutgers’ Gianna Glatz. Preseason honorees who earned second-team All-Big Ten recognition last season include Iowa’s Katie Birch and Sophie Sunderland, along with Ohio State’s Esther Clothet-Alsina.


[SIX // big ten cross country season begins]

Several Big Ten men’s and women’s cross country programs opened their respective seasons over the weekend.  At the Illini Open, Purdue won the event with 25 points, followed by Illinois with 33 points.  On the women’s side, Illinois took the Illini Open with 19 points, while Purdue (53) and Northwestern (67) followed in second and third.  At the Miami Opener, Indiana picked up the men’s race title with 21 points, followed by Ohio State in second with 56 points.  The Buckeyes, however, took the women’s race with 19 points and the Hoosiers were third with 70 points.  The Maryland women’s team placed third overall at the Mount Saint Mary’s 5K Duals Friday. The Wolverines opened the season at the non-scoring Michigan Open.  The Michigan State men’s and women’s cross country teams began their 2019 campaigns on Friday morning by sweeping the 34th annual Jeff Drenth Memorial race with 25 points each.  Rutgers opened with a second-place finish at the Lehigh Invitational, while the women finished fifth.


[SEVEN // big ten men’s golf releases preseason awards]

The Big Ten announced its 2019-20 Men’s Golf Preseason Honorees on Wednesday, in the advance of the 2019-20 season. Twenty-two students earned All-Big Ten honors in 2018-19.  The men’s golf preseason honorees feature 10 standouts who garnered All-Big Ten recognition last spring: Illinois’ Adrien Dumont de Chassart, Michael Feagles and Giovanni Tadiotto, Iowa’s Benton Weinberg, Maryland’s Peter Knade, Michigan State’s James Piot, Minnesota’s Angus Flanagan, and Rutgers’ Christopher Gotterup. The list also includes Iowa’s Alex Schaake and Northwestern’s David Nyfjall, who claimed Big Ten Player of the Year and Big Ten Freshman of the Year honors last season, respectively.


[EIGHT // preseason honors announced in women’s golf]

The Big Ten announced its 2019-20 Women’s Golf Preseason Honorees on Wednesday, in the advance of the 2019-20 season. Twenty-two students earned All-Big Ten honors in 2018-19.  On the women’s side, 12 students claimed All-Big Ten honors in 2019: Illinois’ Tristyn Nowlin, Kornkamol Sukaree and Crystal Wang, Maryland’s Virunpat Olankitkunchai, Michigan State’s Ally Geer-Park, Paz Marfa Sans and Yurika Tanida, Northwestern’s Brooke Rileyand Kelly Sim, Ohio State’s Aneka Seumanutafa, and Purdue’s Danielle du Toit and Inez Wanamarta. The list also features 2019 Big Ten Freshman of the Year Aneka Seumanutafa of Ohio State.


[NINE // btn releases fall sports broadcast schedule]

BTN announced its 2019 fall sports schedule Thursday, which includes the most volleyball coverage in network history.  Along with nearly 40 volleyball matches, the network will televise another 49 field hockey, men’s soccer and women’s soccer games.  Additionally, BTN will debut the B1G Volleyball Report on Wednesday, Sept. 18, following a rematch of the 2018 national championship as No.1 Stanford takes on No. 2 Nebraska. The show will air throughout October following doubleheader matches on Wednesday nights with highlights and analysis from across the Big Ten.


[TEN // btn announces first six tailgate sites]

Finally this week, BTN announced the first six sites for BTN Tailgate, the network’s travelling Saturday football studio show. Now with expanded coverage across the entire season, BTN Tailgate will originate from a different Big Ten campus each week and begin at 10 a.m. ET leading into the first games of the day at noon ET.  Click hereto see all the selected sites for the first half of the season.