[ONE // michigan state, michigan remain unbeaten in big ten play]

With a 77-59 win over Purdue on Tuesday and a 71-56 victory at Penn State Sunday, Michigan State sits atop the Big Ten men’s basketball standingsat 6-0. Michigan also has an unbeaten mark at 5-0, following a 79-69 win at Illinois and an 80-60 result over Northwestern.  Maryland used an 82-67 road victory over Minnesota and a 78-75 comeback win over ranked Indiana to improve to 5-1.  Indiana, Minnesota, Wisconsin and Purdue are all tied at 3-2.


[TWO // rutgers holds lead in women’s basketball]

Rutgers continues to lead the Big Ten women’s basketball race, having scored a 71-60 victory at Illinois on Wednesday and a 62-56 result at Nebraska to move to 5-0 in league action.  Indiana, Maryland and Purdue follow in a tie for second at 4-1. The Hoosiers suffered a 55-50 setback at Ohio State on Thursday, but rebounded Sunday with a 75-68 win at Wisconsin. The Terrapins netted an 81-63 win at Nebraska on Tuesday and returned home to beat Michigan 83-69 on Saturday. The Boilermakers stunned No. 17/17 Iowa 62-57 on Thursdayand got past Northwestern, 57-54, on Sunday.


[THREE // three women’s basketball standouts on wooden award midseason list]

Three Big Ten women’s basketball students are among the 25 candidates appearing on the John R. Wooden Award Midseason Top 25 List announced Wednesday. Iowa’s Megan Gustafson, Maryland’s Kaila Charles and Minnesota’s Kenisha Bell are the conference standouts on this year’s midseason watch list for the award, which goes to the nation’s top college basketball player.  The leading candidates for the 2019 John R. Wooden Award will be trimmed to the top 20 players in early February. The Wooden Award All-America Team will be announced during the weekend of regional play in this year’s NCAA Tournament (March 29-April 1). The 2019 Wooden Award recipient will be presented during the ESPN College Basketball Awards show on April 12.


[FOUR // spartans’ white, badgers Thomas named to college football hall of fame]

Michigan State’s Lorenzo White and Wisconsin’s Joe Thomas were named to the 2019 College Football Hall of Fame Class on Monday. The 2019 College Football Hall of Fame Class will be officially inducted during the 62nd NFF Annual Awards Dinner on Dec. 10, 2019, at the New York Hilton Midtown.


[FIVE // ten standouts taken in mls superdraft]

Ten Big Ten students were selected in the first and second rounds of the2019 Major League Soccer (MLS) SuperDrafton Friday in Chicago.  Leading the way was Indiana midfielder Griffin Dorsey, who was chosen by Toronto FC as the sixth overall pick. Maryland goalkeeper Dayne St. Clair was picked next at No. 7 by Minnesota United FC, with his college teammate Chase Gasper also being picked by the Loons at No. 15. DeJuan Jones of Michigan State was selected by the New England Revolution at No. 11, and fellow Spartan Ryan Sierakowski was the 23rd overall pick by Portland Timbers. In the second round, Michigan defender Marcello Borges was taken fourth (28th overall) by the Colorado Rapids and Michigan State goalkeeper Jimmy Hague was selected sixth by FC Cincinnati. The Big Ten then produced three picks in a row with No. 8 Indiana’s Rece Buckmaster (New York Red Bulls), No. 9 Maryland’s Andrew Samuels (Houston Dynamo) and No. 10 Maryland’s Amar Sejdic (Montreal Impact). The third and fourth round will be conducted via conference call on Monday, Jan. 14.


[SIX // seven soccer stars selected in nwsl college draft]

Seven Big Ten students from four conference schools were selected in the2019 National Women’s Soccer League (NWSL) College Draftthat was held Thursday in conjunction with the United Soccer Coaches Convention at McCormick Place in Chicago. The Big Ten has now had at least three students chosen in each of the NWSL’s seven College Drafts, including a record-setting nine selections in 2017.  Leading the way was Penn State midfielder Emily Ogle, who was chosen by Portland Thorns FC in the third round with the No. 24 overall pick. She was joined in the third round by Northwestern defender Kayla Sharples, who was selected by the Chicago Red Stars with the No. 26 overall choice, one position ahead of Penn State defender Maddie Nolf, who went at No. 27 to Utah Royals FC.  In the fourth round, Big Ten students were selected four times in a five-pick span. Rutgers defender Kenie Wright was selected at No. 29 by Sky Blue FC, followed by Northwestern midfielder Marisa Viggiano at No. 30 to the Orlando Pride. Minnesota forward April Bockin was next, chosen at No. 31 by the Chicago Red Stars, with that franchise also selecting Northwestern defender Hannah Davison two picks later at No. 33.


[SEVEN // men’s gymnastics opens season]

The 2019 Big Ten men’s gymnastics season began this past weekend with five conference teams competing. The season opened Friday with Penn State competing at the West Point Open in New York, where the Nittany Lions captured their sixth-straight and 21st-overall West Point Open title with a score of 407.500.  On Saturday, Illinois blew past UIC, 404.550-352.800, while Nebraska (404.350), Minnesota (403.900) and Ohio State (398.500) placed behind top-ranked Oklahoma at the Rocky Mountain Open.  Iowa and Michigan will start their season Saturday, Jan. 19 at the Windy City Invitational.


[EIGHT // women’s gymnastics season rolls on]

It was a busy week in Big Ten women’s gymnastics with each team competing.  Minnesota (195.600) rolled to a home quad-meet victory, as did Maryland (193.850), Ohio State topped NC State 196.025-194.925, Penn State (195.150) won the Little Boston Invitational, Nebraska edged Washington, 195.550-195.250, Michigan State (194.900) was third at the Collegiate Challenge and Illinois (195.225) placed second at its home quad meet.  Iowa defeated Southeastern Missouri 194.700-180.925, but fell 193.950-193.500 to New Hampshire.  Michigan scored a 196.025 to finish third in a quad meet at Alabama.


[NINE // three standouts among nominees for hockey humanitarian award]

Notre Dame’s Cal Burke, Ohio State’s Tommy Parran and Wisconsin’s Jake Bunz are among the 17 nominees for the 2019 Hockey Humanitarian Award, as announced by the Hockey Humanitarian Award Foundation on Thursday.  The award is presented annually to college hockey’s finest citizen — a student-athlete who makes significant contributions not only to his or her team but also to the community-at-large through leadership in volunteerism.  Finalists for the 2019 Hockey Humanitarian Award will be announced in February. The 2019 recipient will be honored in a ceremony on Friday, April 12, as part of the NCAA Men’s Frozen Four weekend in Buffalo, N.Y.


[TEN // seven tennis teams set to open season ranked nationally]

Finally this week, four men’s teams and three women’s programs have been recognized in the season’s first Oracle/ITA Top 25 poll, released Wednesday by the Intercollegiate Tennis Association. The Ohio State men start the year ranked second overall, having also garnered one of the 12 first-place votes.  Illinois is 16th and Michigan is 23rd, while Minnesota is receiving votes outside the top 25.  On the women’s side, Michigan enters the season ranked 10th, followed by No. 19 Northwestern and No. 21 Illinois.