[ONE // ohio state stuns top-ranked spartans]

Ohio State closed out the week in Big Ten men’s basketball action in a big way Sunday, defeating No. 1 Michigan State, 80-64. Keita Bates-Diop scored a career-high 32 points for OSU, which won its third straight game and halted the Spartans’ winning streak at 15 games. Earlier in the week, MSU earned a 91-61 win over Maryland, while Ohio State bested Iowa, 92-81. No. 13/12 Purdue picked up two Big Ten wins this past week with an 82-51 result over Rutgers and a 74-62 victory against Nebraska. Michigan also earned a conference sweep with a 75-68 win over Iowa and a 79-69 decision over Illinois. Among the handful of teams that posted 1-1 marks in league action this past week, Indiana gave first-year head coach Archie Miller his first B1G road win with a 75-71 victory at Minnesota. At week’s end, Ohio State and Purdue sit atop the conference standings at 4-0, followed by Michigan and Michigan State at 3-1.


[TWO // pair of top-20 matchups highlight week in women’s hoops]

Big Ten women’s basketball action saw two top-25 matchups as the featured contests this past week. No. 13/13 Maryland defended its home court with an 80-64 win over No. 18/17 Iowa on Wednesday, while No. 10/10 Ohio State held off No. 22/20 Michigan in Ann Arbor with a 78-71 overtime win. The Terrapins and Buckeyes, along with Rutgers, each went 2-0 in league play this past week. Among the other notables, Indiana has a new career scoring leader as Tyra Buss reached the milestone with 27 points in a 77-74 loss at Penn State on Tuesday. Buss responded with 19 more points in Saturday’s 72-54 win over rival Purdue, giving her 1,950 points for her career.  At week’s end, Maryland, Ohio State and Rutgers are tied for first in the league standings at 4-0, followed by Iowa at 3-1.


[THREE // basketball senior class award candidates announced]

Four Big Ten basketball seniors from three conference schools are among 60 candidates for the 2017-18 Senior CLASS Award, which is presented annually to one male and one female senior student who have made notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition. On the women’s side, the Indiana duo of Tyra Buss and Amanda Cahill, and Minnesota’s Carlie Wagner were chosen as Senior CLASS Award candidates. Northwestern’s Bryant McIntosh was the Big Ten men’s basketball representative on this year’s Senior CLASS Award candidate list.


[FOUR // time to dance on btn]

BTN and BTN Originals announced this past week First Dance, chronicling the historic 2016-17 Northwestern men’s basketball season, will premiere on Tuesday, Jan. 23 at 11 p.m. ET/10 p.m. CT following NU’s game against Minnesota on BTN. The documentary takes an inside look at the Wildcats’ resilience, struggles and triumphs en route to the first NCAA Tournament berth in program history last year.


[FIVE // wolverines’ woodson honored by the hall of fame]

Former Michigan Heisman Trophy winner Charles Woodson has been named to the National Football Foundation and College Football Hall of Fame Class of 2018, it was announced Sunday during ESPN’s Sunday NFL Countdown. Woodson works as an NFL analyst on ESPN and was surprised by the program’s staff during the telecast. Woodson helped lead Michigan to the 1997 national championship as he became the first primarily defensive player to win the Heisman Trophy. He earned unanimous All-American honors during the 1997 season and claimed the Heisman, Walter Camp Award, Bronko Nagurski Trophy, Chuck Bednarik Award and the Jim Thorpe Award.


[SIX // illini, wolverines, buckeyes earn league sweeps in wrestling]

Big Ten wrestling returned to the mats this past week with conference duals Friday and Sunday. Michigan garnered two league wins with a 43-0 blanking of Indiana and a 25-14 victory over Purdue. The Wolverines also battled Princeton while at Purdue, defeating the Tigers 28-10. Illinois edged out two Big Ten opponents by the same score this past week, topping both Nebraska and Northwestern by identical 18-17 scores. Ohio State also picked up a pair of conference wins with a 45-3 decision over Maryland and a 29-11 victory at Rutgers. Iowa and Minnesota both defeated Michigan State on the week. The Hawkeyes topped MSU 49-6, while the Gophers earned a 29-3 victory. Elsewhere in the league, Nebraska defeated Maryland 48-3, while Purdue topped Princeton in non-conference action, 29-17.


[SEVEN // big ten sweeps on the ice]

It was a weekend of conference sweeps for the Notre Dame, Ohio State and Penn State men’s ice hockey programs. The Fighting Irish defeated Michigan by 2-1 scores on both Friday and Sunday, while the Buckeyes picked up a 4-1 victory and a 5-3 win at Michigan State. Elsewhere on the ice, Penn State beat Wisconsin 5-1 on Friday and then earned a 1-0 shootout win after a 3-3 draw against the Badgers on Saturday. In non-conference action, Minnesota responded Sunday with a 2-0 shutout over St. Cloud State after dropping a 5-2 decision to them on Saturday.


[EIGHT // gophers and buckeyes get back in the pool]

The 13th-ranked Ohio State women’s swimming team picked up a pair of dual wins this weekend over No. 15 Kentucky (204-185) and Toledo (331-54) in Lexington, Kentucky. On the men’s side, No. 18 Ohio State eclipsed Kentucky by a score of 210.50-178.50. In Honolulu, the Minnesota men and women defeated host Hawaii and NCAA Division II perennial power Drury on Sunday. The 16th-ranked Gopher women beat Hawaii 139.5-121.5 and Drury 193-67, while the No. 22 Minnesota men bested Hawaii 177-79 and Drury 168-93.


[NINE // women’s gymnastics teams open the 2018 season]

Several Big Ten women’s gymnastics programs opened the 2018 campaign this past week. No. 7 Michigan opened at home and impressed a crowd of more than 3,000 with a 196.200-195.675 victory over No. 4 Alabama. No. 25 Penn State scored a 194.275-192.900 victory over No. 35 Eastern Michigan. Michigan State was edged by Bowling Green, 194.000-193.350, while No. 22 Ohio State opened 2018 with a 196.250-193.200 loss at No. 6 UCLA. Elsewhere, No. 20 Iowa posted a 193.000 to finish fourth in its 2018 season opener against No. 14 Auburn, Arizona State, and Iowa State on Saturday. Iowa State won with a score of 195.125. Arizona State followed in second with a total of 194.675, while Auburn finished in third with a 193.950. Maryland (194.100) placed third at the Little Boston Invitational, behind Temple (194.875) and New Hampshire (194.175), and in front of Towson (193.800). Rutgers was supposed to open the season in Arizona, however the winter storm that hit the east coast grounded the Scarlet Knights, who will now open the season on Jan. 13.


[TEN // buckeyes back on track in big way]

Finally this week, for the second season in a row, Ohio State shot putter Sade Olatoye started her year off by setting a school record. To get the 2018 season going, Olatoye tossed the shot put 17.34m (56-10.75) to claim gold at the Buckeye Classic, as well as the second longest throw in the nation this year. Not to be outdone, Cole Gorski also etched his name in the records book with a personal best clearance of 5.40m (17-8.50) in the pole vault. He is now the sole school record owner of both indoor and outdoor pole vault. Gorski also holds the second best marking in the nation this year.