ROSEMONT, ILL. – The BIG EAST Conference and Big Ten Conference have announced the matchups for the sixth annual Gavitt Tipoff Games, with eight men’s basketball contests set for Nov. 15-18, 2021. All contests will be televised on FS1 or BTN, with game times slated to be announced at a later date.

The Gavitt Tipoff Games, which began in 2015, is an early-season series between the two conferences and named in honor of Hall of Famer Dave Gavitt, founder of the BIG EAST and basketball visionary. The BIG EAST and Big Ten split the series 4-4 from 2015-17 before the Big Ten emerged victorious in both 2018 and 2019 by a 5-3 margin. Last year, the conferences mutually agreed to cancel the 2020 series after the COVID-19 pandemic delayed the start of the 2020-21 NCAA basketball season and presented scheduling and timing issues.

The annual series, which is played on campus home courts, features games between local opponents as well as attractive intersectional matchups.

This year’s 16-team field includes 2021 Big Ten champion Michigan and 2021 Big Ten Tournament champion Illinois. Both the Wolverines and Fighting Illini earned No. 1 seeds in the 2021 NCAA Tournament and will be joined in this year’s Gavitt Tipoff Games by five other NCAA Tournament teams: Creighton, Michigan State, Ohio State, Rutgers and Wisconsin.

The Gavitt Tipoff Games begin on Monday, Nov. 15, with Wisconsin hosting Providence and Illinois traveling to Marquette. On Tuesday, Nov. 16, Michigan with face Seton Hall at home, while Nebraska hosts Creighton. On Wednesday, Nov. 17, Michigan State will play at Butler and St. John’s will play at Indiana.

The series concludes on Thursday, Nov. 18, with Ohio State playing at Xavier and Rutgers traveling to take on DePaul.

2021 Gavitt Tipoff Games Schedule

Monday, Nov. 15

Providence at Wisconsin 

Illinois at Marquette

Tuesday, Nov. 16

Seton Hall at Michigan

Creighton at Nebraska

Wednesday, Nov. 17

Michigan State at Butler

St John’s at Indiana

Thursday, Nov. 18

Ohio State at Xavier

Rutgers at DePaul

The Gavitt Tipoff Games began in 2015 and is played annually on consecutive days early in the college basketball season. Throughout the series, each BIG EAST team is scheduled to participate a minimum of six times, while Big Ten programs are slated to take part a minimum of four times. Teams from both conferences already meet in some traditional rivalry games, and those matchups will continue in the upcoming seasons.

The distinctive series between the two conferences is named to honor the late Gavitt, who had a profound and lasting influence on the sport of basketball at the collegiate, professional and Olympic levels. He was inducted into the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame in 2006.