BLOOMINGTON, Ind. – For the third time in four years, the Indiana University men’s basketball team will hit the road in the Big Ten/ACC Challenge when it travels to Syracuse on Tuesday, November 30. This will be the 23rd year of the challenge and will be the second meeting  between the two teams that played for the NCAA Championship, which Indiana won in 1987, in this series. Syracuse defeated the Hoosiers, 69-52, at home in 2013. Since that national title game, the Orange have won the last five meetings.

IU will begin the Mike Woodson Era this season and return three starters including sophomore All-American Trayce Jackson Davis. He was the only major college player to average 19 points and nine rebounds a season ago. Junior guard Rob Phinisee and junior forward Race Thompson are returning starters who also are back.

Syracuse was 18-10 last season and secured a spot in the NCAA Tournament for the third straight year in which the competition was held. The 11th-seeded Orange upset San Diego State and West Virginia and advanced to the Sweet 16 before losing to Final Four bound Houston. Hall of Fame Coach Jim Boeheim is second in all-time Division I coaching triumphs. He is also second on the active games coached list, trailing only Duke’s Mike Krzyzewski in the two categories.

IU is 8-12 all-time in the Big Ten/ACC Challenge after falling 69-67 in overtime at #20 Florida State. IU has played a nationally ranked foe in the event for six-straight seasons and eight of the last nine campaigns. The Hoosiers will be looking for their first road win in the series wince winning at NC State, 86-75 in 2011.

ESPN, ESPN2 and ESPNU will combine to televise all 14 games of the event, and all games will also be available to stream via the ESPN app. Start times and network designations will be announced at a later date. The Big Ten has captured the Commissioner’s Cup in each of the last two seasons.


(Syracuse leads 5-1)

3/30/87            W        74-73               New Orleans (NCAA Championship)

11/23/88          L          78-102             New York

11/25/90          L          74-77               Lahaina, Maui

11/25/98          L          63-76               Lahaina, Maui

3/28/13            L          50-61               Washington, D.C.

12/3/13            L          52-69               Syracuse, N.Y.

2021 Big Ten/ACC Challenge

Indiana at Syracuse

Florida State at Purdue

Duke at Ohio State

Louisville at Michigan State

Michigan at North Carolina

Nebraska at NC State

Wisconsin at Georgia Tech

Iowa at Virginia

Notre Dame at Illinois

Clemson at Rutgers

Northwestern at Wake Forest

Minnesota at Pitt

Virginia Tech at Maryland

Miami at Penn State