BLOOMINGTON, Ind. – The No. 2-ranked Indiana Hoosiers (12-1-2) will face the No. 10-ranked Marshall Thundering Herd (12-2-3) in the 2020 NCAA College Cup National Championship match at 8 p.m. ET on May 17 at Sahlen’s Stadium at WakeMed Soccer Park in Cary, N.C. The match will be televised on ESPN2 with Dalen Cuff (PxP), Devon Kerr (Analyst) and Lori Lindsey (Sideline) on the call.


• Indiana has won the NCAA championship eight times in the program’s storied history and have made an NCAA record 21 College Cup appearances.

• No program has more NCAA tourney victories (95) than the Hoosiers. UCLA (70) is second.

• The Hoosiers hold a record of 95-34-6 in the NCAA Tournament. The .726 winning percentage is the highest total of any program that has won more than 10 matches.

• IU last hosted the NCAA Championship trophy after defeating Georgetown by a score of 1-0 in 2012.


• Sophomore forward Victor Bezerra earned Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year and Big Ten Offensive Player of the Tournament, sophomore goalie Roman Celentano claimed Big Ten Goalkeeper of the Year and Big Ten Defensive Player of the Tournament.

• Bezerra also earned Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year honors. He is the third Hoosier to garner the award as he joins Will Bruin (2010) and Eriq Zavaleta (2012). Celentano became the second IU keeper to be named Big Ten Goalkeeper of the Year (Trey Muse, 2018).

• The pair of second-year stars were joined by redshirt senior defender Spencer Glass on the United Soccer Coaches All-America list. Bezerra was named to the first team, Celentano the second, and Glass closed out his collegiate career as a third-team All-American.

• Sophomore midfielder Herbert Endeley and redshirt sophomore defender Daniel Munie were named to the All-Big Ten Second Team. Freshman defender Joey Maher was named to the All-Big Ten Freshman Team.

• Todd Yeagley was named Big Ten Conference Coach of the Year for the fourth time (2010, ’18, ’19). Yeagley joins his father, Jerry Yeagley, as the only coaches in Big Ten program history to earn the accolade in three-consecutive seasons. Jerry achieved the feat from 2001-03.

• Recently, Bezerra was named one of three finalists for the MAC Hermann Trophy. The winner of the prestigious award will be announced on May 27 at a banquet in St. Louis.


• The Hoosiers have not suffered a loss in 12-straight matches, the longest active streak in the Big Ten and the program’s longest streak without a loss since the 2018 (Oct. 3-Nov. 30) campaign. The ’18 team went 11-0-1 before the season ended in NCAA College Cup.

• Head coach Todd Yeagley earned his 150th-career win on March 23.

• Under the direction of Yeagley, the Hoosiers have compiled an NCAA Tournament record of 19-9-2. IU captured the program’s eighth star in 2012 with a 1-0 triumph over Georgetown in Hoover, Ala.

• In the last 44 Big Ten regular season matches Indiana holds a record of 33-2-9. IU is 10-0-6 in the Big Ten Tournament since 2015.

• Redshirt senior defender Spencer Glass suffered a season-ending injury (tibia) against No. 11 Michigan.

• Indiana is playing in the program’s 16th NCAA Championship match, the most of any NCAA team. St. Louis (13) is second. No other program has played in more than nine NCAA title games.


• Indiana shutout the hottest offensive team remaining in the NCAA Tournament with a nail-biting 1-0 victory over the Pittsburgh Panthers in the national semifinal match.

• Celentano made two saves in the match as the defensive backline limited the number of favorable chances from the Pitt attack.

• Sophomore forward Herbert Endeley split to defenders and fired a ball past the Pitt keeper in the upper right corner of the net in the 79th minute.

• The Hoosiers were able to successfully defend a fury of late chances from the Panthers and held on to punch their ticket into the program’s 16th NCAA title game appearance.


• The Marshall Thundering Herd, directed by C-USA Coach of the Year Chris Grassie, will be playing in their first national championship after advancing through North Carolina by way of a 1-0 decision in the semifinal match.

• The 10th-ranked team in the country holds a record of 12-2-3 and won the C-USA regular season title for the second-straight season. The Herd are led by junior midfielder Vitor Dias. The C-USA Player of the Year posted team highs in both goals (6) and assists (6). Senior for-ward Jamil Roberts secured four goals, including the winner over North Carolina, and five assists this season.

• Junior keeper Oliver Semmle, the C-USA Golden Glove Award winner, surrendered just seven goals (0.403 GAA) while starting 16-of-17 matches played this season. He has 25 saves (0.781 save percentage) to go along with nine shutouts. He allowed more than one goal in just one match this season.


• For the second time in the 2020 NCAA Men’s Soccer Tournament, the Hoosiers will square off with an opponent the program has never faced before.

• Indiana advanced past the St. Francis Brooklyn Terriers in the second round of the tournament by way of penalty kicks in the debut meeting of the two squads.